Ulster Women, seeded 4th, travelled to St Mary’s RFC, Templelogue, Dublin on Saturday afternoon to play Leinster Women, seeded 1st, in the semi final of the Women’s Interprovincial Championship.

Report and pictures Bob Given Photography

Despite a few individual performances in defence, it was an afternoon when Ulster women came off second best in all aspects of the game.

Ulster lost the services of their international prop Ilse van Staden before kick off and they could not secure set piece ball and in the loose were smashed off the ball by a very dominant back row.

Maeve Liston tries to escape the Leinster defence.

The scene was set very early on when Leinster scored a converted try after only 3 minutes. Ulster survived waves of attacks, before making their way up-field, where scrum half, Jemma Jackson, converted a penalty goal on 24 minutes.

However, sloppy defence in securing the kick off allowed Leinster in for a converted try a minute later.

Sporadic Ulster attacks were repulsed and another try was conceded on 32 minutes to leave the score at half time 19 – 3 in Leinster’s favour.

Ulster will prefer to forget the 2nd half.

A relentless Leinster run in nine tries against Ulster

It was one way traffic with Ulster only getting out of their own half, after they kicked off after yet another score. Leinster piled on the pressure scoring 6 tries, 5 converted, to win convincingly 59 – 3!

Match gallery below.