Interprovincial: Ulster U18’s battle back for a try bonus against Leinster.

, , ,


Ulster U18 were undone by first half errors in their Interprovincial match against Leinster U18 at City of Armagh RFC on Saturday afternoon.

Ulster U18 (5) 20

TRY: Emma Ryan, Ella Garland, Lucy Thompson, Sarah Shrestha

Leinster U18 (24) 38

TRY: Ivanna Dempsey, Emily Jo White, Laura Carty, Ciara Faulkner, Elle Meade, Rachel Conroy

CON: Ava Jenkins (3), Ciara Faulkner

Ulster enjoyed much of the territory and possession in the first half but their hard work was undone by better work from Leinster at the breakdown who ran in two turnovers through Ivanna Dempsey and Emily Joe White to take a 0 – 10 lead in the first quarter.

The home side finally made their possession count with Emma Ryan going over after a period of sustained pressure from the Ulster forwards.

Eyes on the line for Emma Ryan as she goes over for Ulster’s opening score.

Unfortunately for the Ulster girls their good work was undone with Leinster running in two more, through Laura Carty, and Ciara Faulkner, to give Leinster a try bonus before half time without having to do too much.

Ulster upped their ball retention significantly in a storming second half come back, despite Leinster working a good try for Elle Meade shortly after the restart.

The Ulster forwards began to get on top and Ella Garland crashed over minutes later to take the score to 10 – 31.

Lucy Thompson capped a busy game with a second half try.

Leinster extended their lead through Rachel Conroy but Ulster hit back through Lucy Thompson and Sarah Shrestha to claim a deserved try bonus an give a final score of Ulster 20 Leinster 38.

We caught up with the Ulster scorers Emma Ryan, Ella Garland, Lucy Thompson and Sarah Shrestha after the game.

Ulster scorers Emma Ryan, Ella Garland, Lucy Thompson and Sarah Shrestha after the game.


ULSTER U18: Farrah McCloskey (Enniskillen), Sophie Kinghan (Dundalk), Lucy Thompson (Enniskillen), Moya Hill (Enniskillen), Emma Ryan (Virginia), Toni Macartney (Larne), Sarah Shrestha (Dungannon), Ella Garland (Cooke), Aoife Cahill (Malone), Ava Fannin (Virginia) (C), Kim Johnston (Dungannon), Taryn Schutzler (Malone), Rachel McGee (Ballyshannon), Erin Carson (Malone), Sophie Barrett (Enniskillen). Replacements: Cara O’Neill (Malone), Hannah Cooney (Malone), Delyth Cook (Ballyclare), Samantha Cassidy Campbell (Ballyclare), Jennifer Collins (Donaghadee), Lauren Kilfedder (Enniskillen), Jana McQuillan (Larne), Jenna Corkey (City of Armagh).

LEINSTER U18: Laura Carty (Edenderry), Orla Hayes (Ashbourne), Ciara Faulkner (Tullamore), Emma Kelly (Tullamore), Rachel Conroy (Tullamore), Ava Jenkins (Mullingar), Beth Roberts (Wicklow), Emily Jo White (North Meath), Ellen Murray (Naas), Eimear Douglas (Wicklow), Ivanna Dempsey (Naas), Dara Yore (North Meath), Hannah Foxe (Tullamore), Erin King (Naas), Ellie Meade (Dundalk) (C). Replacements: Emily Slater (Arklow), Rachel Murtagh (Naas), Oreoluwa Oluteju (Cill Dara), Nina Hjalmers (Dundalk), Aoife Wafer (Enniscorthy), Katie Whelan (Enniscorthy), Kathryn Dempsey (New Ross), Vicky Elms Kinlan (Wicklow).

Gallery Below

[adrotate banner=”7″]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.