Ulster Women: Teams up for U18’s Ulster v Leinster.

Published Categorised as 2019-20, Interprovincials, Leinster U18 Girls, Provincial Rugby Youth, Ulster U18 Girls Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Captain Ava Fannin to lead the charge against Leinster.

The teams have been announced for the U18 Women’s Interprovincial between Ulster and Leinster which takes place at City of Armagh RFC on Saturday afternoon, kick off 3:00pm.

The sides lost 9 players between them, I believe, due to an Ireland 7s camp being held on the same day.

For the second week running Ulster will be missing Mya Alcorn, Amanda McQuade and Lucy Turkington who will be joined this week by Zara Flack and, our “Gal of the Game” from last week, India Daley. By my calculations Leinster will be missing four players.

Both teams won their opening match last week with Ulster battling back to beat Munster in Cork and Leinster stormed to the top of the Interpro table with a 7 try win against Connacht at home.

U18 Interprovincial Table 

Leinster U18112915
Ulster U1811504
Munster U1810-511
Connacht U1810-2900

So Saturday gives us a clash between the top two. However, nothing will be decided in this game as this year the competition has an extended run with the first three games being played on a round robin basis to decide the seedings for a subsequent semi final and final.

Ulster have made two personnel and two positional changes to their starting squad to adjust for the absence of centre Flack and Daley. In the backs Lucy Thompson moves from wing to centre to replace Flack and Emma Ryan comes off the bench to take Thompsons place on the wing.

The difficult decision of who to drop to make way for last weeks two try hero Rachel McGee has been avoided with Daley’s call up to the Ireland 7s squad, though I would have loved to see that pair play in tandem for the full 70 mins. McGee comes in at blind side with Sophie Barrett dropping back to No 8.

Jennifer Collins (Donaghadee) and Jana McQuillan (Larne) come in to take the vacant positions on the bench.

Leinster have made three changes to to their match day 23 ahead of the game as Nina Hjalmers, Vicky Elms Kinlan and Oreoluwa Oluteju come into the squad.


Ulster U18Leinster U18
Farrah McCloskey15Laura Carty
Sophie Kinghan14Orla Hayes
Lucy Thompson13Ciara Faulkner
Moya Hill12Emma Kelly
Emma Ryan11Rachel Conroy
Toni Macartney10Ava Jenkins
Sarah Shrestha9Beth Roberts
Ella Garland1Emily Jo White
Aoife Cahill2Ellen Murray
Ava Fannin (C)3Eimer Douglas
Kim Johnston4Ivanna Dempsey
Taryn Schutzler5Dara Yore
Rachel McGee6Hannah Foxe
Erin Carson7Erin King
Sophie Barrett8Ellie Meade (C)
Cara O’Neill16Emily Slater
Hannah Cooney17Rachel Murtagh
Delyth Cook 18Oreoluwa Oluteju
Samantha Cassidy Campbell19Nina Hjalmers
Jennifer Collins20Aoife Wafer
Lauren Kilfedder21Katie Whelan
Jana McQuillan22Kathryn Dempsey
Jenna Corkey23Vicky Elms Kinlan

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.