The Women’s All Ireland Sevens competition kicks off tomorrow (Saturday) at Terenure College RFC with six of the All Ireland Women teams taking part. 

I haven’t heard too much about this initiative, except from the clubs involved, but I suspect it’s intended to feed players from the clubs into the Ireland Women’s Sevens programme. 

The tournament is currently scheduled to be played over three rounds with Round 1 kicking off at Terenure at 12:00. The second round is scheduled for the University of Limerick on 15th June, with the third and final round to be played on 22nd June at a venue still to be confirmed. 

The six teams have been split onto two pools as follows. 

Pool A Pool B
Blackrock College Cooke
Galwegians UL Bohs
Railway Union Old Belvedere

With the following pool and knock-out matches taking place. 

Time Team 1   Team 2
1 12:00 Blackrock College v Railway Union
2 12:30 Cooke v Old Belvedere
3 13:00 Galwegians v Railway Union
4 13:30 UL Bohs v Old Belvedere
5 14:00 Blackrock College vs Galwegians
6 14:30 Cooke vs UL Bohs
7 15:00 A1 v B2
8 15:20 B1 v A2
9 15:40 A3 v B3
10 16:00 Loser 7 v Loser 8
11 16:30 Winner 7 v Winner 8

*Teams will be ranked 1-3 within their pool after the completion of the pool games.


Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.