2016-17 PRO14

Teams up for Ulster Rugby v Cardiff Blues

Teams are up for Friday night’s Guinness PRO12 match between Ulster Rugby and Cardiff Blues which takes place at Ravenhill. Kick off 19:35, live on BBCNI.

Ulster welcome back Rory Best and Paddy Jackson to the starting line up with Stuart Olding moving from out half to inside centre to accommodate Jackson. Roger Wilson replaces Chris Henry and Andrew Trimble makes his return from injury with a start from the bench.

Nick Timoney joins the squad for the first time this season and will take the players used this season up to 48 if he makes an appearance from the bench. For those of you that read our last article here the “Ulster” representation for this squad is 48%.

Cardiff have made four changes to their starting line up, the most notable, for Ulster fans at least, being Nick Williams dropping to the bench to allow the return of Ellis Jenkins at blindside with Josh Navidi moving to No. 8.

It’s still a strong back row for the Blues and they look like they will cause Ulster problems  and with big Nick to come on in the second half it’s unlikely that those problems will lessen as the game goes on. A clear advantage for the visitors in my book.

Ulster do have the backs (as always) to create plenty of problems but I worry about the pack and the back row in particular. They will need to find some get up and go that they haven’t found too often this season so I suppose we’ll find out how determined they are to hold on to their top four spot.

Cardiff, on the other hand, are in the battle for Champions Cup qualification and If I was in charge I would certainly be regarding an away trip to a vulnerable Ulster as one of the games where you could pick up a few points. I really can see this one going either way.

The FRU Predicts: I can’t see anything but a close one here, with Ulster just about coming out on top – hopefully! #SUFTUM

Jared Payne 15 Rhun Williams
Craig Gilroy 14 Alex Cuthbert
Luke Marshall 13 Rey Lee-Lo
Stuart Olding 12 Willis Halaholo
Charles Piutau 11 Blaine Scully
Paddy Jackson 10 Gareth Anscombe
Ruan Pienaar 9 Lloyd Williams
Andrew Warwick 1 Gethin Jenkins
Rory Best 2 Matthew Rees
Wiehahn Herbst 3 Taufa’ao Filise
Kieran Treadwell 4 George Earl
Alan O’Connor 5 Jarrad Hoeata
Iain Henderson 6 Ellis Jenkins
Sean Reidy 7 Sam Warburton
Roger Wilson 8 Josh Navidi
Rob Herring 16 Kirby Myhill
Callum Black 17 Corey Domachowski
Rodney Ah You 18 Kieron Assiratti
Robbie Diack 19 James Down
Nick Timoney 20 Nick Williams
Paul Marshall 21 Tomos Williams
Jacob Stockdale 22 Steve Shingler
Andrew Trimble 23 Matthew Morgan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.