Dungannon RFC Malone RFC Ulster Premiership

Ulster Senior League: Malone 18 Dungannon 41.

Dungannon came away from Gibson Park with the spoils after defeating hosts Malone by 18 – 41 to claim their second successive win in the Ulster Senior League.

Malone started the game strongly going into an early lead courtesy of two penalties from centre Josh Pentland and with their pack causing problems up front they managed to keep the visitors on the back foot for much of the opening quarter.

However Dungannon looked keen to counter attack and on 18 minutes they sent Michael Lawton over for an unconverted try bringing the score to 6 – 5.

Malone hit back with a bit of a rumble in the pack which was finished off with prop David Halliday going over an unconverted try to restore their six point lead. However Dungannon responded with another try when fullback Conor Gaston turned on the afterburners to run the ball in from his own 22. Lawton converted and ‘Gannon slipped into a one point lead 11 – 12.

Malone pressed hard to regain the lead but after good work by Aaron Fry, Glen Telford, Paul Magee and Stuart Lester young Gaston was left clear for a simple run in. Lawton converted to give the visitors an 11 –19 lead at half time.

Dungannon went further ahead early in the second half with a Lawton penalty and when the same player added a try and conversion shortly after it looked all over for the home side with the score now 11 – 29. Things went from bad to worse for the hosts with Lester bundling over and Lawton adding the extras to bounce the score along to 11 – 36 but the home crowd got some respite when flanker Ricky McCullough pulled one back with Pentland converting from wide. 18 – 36.

It was the visitors who were to have the final say with Lester leading the charge and hooker Adam Duhig showing a nice turn of pace to finish off the move with the last score of the afternoon.

Final score: Malone 18 Dungannon 41.

Malone Squad: Andy Baird, David Irwin, John Anderson, Josh Pentland, Peter Reine; Chris Rowan, Shane Kelly, Alastair Coulson, Simon Bailey, David Halliday, Mark Hill, Marty Boyd, Richard McCullagh, Neil Alcorn, Glenn Moore, L Barton, J Porter, M Porter, G Fry, J Rowan.

Dungannon Squad: Conor Gaston. Stuart Lester, Paul Magee, Glen Telford, Michael Lawton. Kieran Campbell, Michael Kirkwood, Steven Sinnamon, Adam Duhig, Mark Farquhar, Aaron Fry, Michael Rainey, Stuart McKenzie, Mark Riddell, Timothy Smith. Ben Howard, Ali Birch, Jason Bloomfield, Ethan Allen, Scott Browne.

Referee: Mark Patton (Academy)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.