AIL 1B: City of Armagh 32 Old Belvedere 18

Published Categorised as 2021-22, All Ireland League 1B, City of Armagh RFC, Club Rugby Men, Old Belvedere RFC (M) Tagged , , , , , ,
City of Armagh record a bonus point win against Old Belvedere in AIL 1B at the Palace Grounds on Saturday afternoon.

Saturday kicked of round 2 of the All Ireland League 1B.  Old Belvedere travelled north to take on City of Armagh at the Palace Grounds in Armagh.

Armagh started off the match in style when Shea O’Brien scored in the corner in the opening minutes but Kyle Faloon was unable to convert it. 5-0 Armagh. Armagh continued the pressure when Faloon showed moves that would dazzle the judges in Strictly when he scored a screamer, he converted his own try to take Armagh out to a 12-0 lead.

Kyle Faloon cuts loose for City of Armagh against Old Belvedere

Belvedere didn’t lie down and went on the offensive when winger James McKeown caught a cross field kick to score a well worked try. Armagh 12-5.

Belvedere continued the pressure when 2nd row Paddy Dowling made a break and crossed over the whitewash.  Justin Leonard clipped it over to even up the match. 12-12.

James McKeown slides home for Belvo against Armagh at the Palace Grounds.

Faloon helped Armagh dampen down the attack when he converted a penalty only to be matched by Leonard who knocked over 3 points to keep the match tight.

The final scoring play of the half saw prop Jerry Cahir yellow carded and a penalty try awarded to Armagh.

Half time: Armagh 22 Belvo 15

Armagh showed some class in the second half when they extended their lead with a Faloon penalty but was again matched when Leonard converted a penalty for Belvo.

Leonard’s stellar performance was dented when he made a high tackle resulting in a sin bin for 10 minutes.  Armagh capitalised and finished the game off when winger Andrew Willis crossed the white wash for one more try. Faloon’s kicking boots continued in fine form when he knocked it over for 2 more points.

Final Score: City of Armagh 32 Old Belvedere 18.

City of Armagh: Kyle Faloon, Andrew Willis, Shea O’Brien, Chris Colvin, Matthew Hooks, Romain Morrow, Alex Johnston, Peter Lamb , Jack Treanor, Philip Fletcher, John Glasgow, Josh McKinley, Nigel Simpson, James Hanna, Ryan Finlay. Replacements: Jonathan Morton, Eoin O’Hagan, Oliver Millar, James Morton, Gerard Treanor, Evan Crummie.

Old Belvedere: Colm Hogan, James Mc Keown, David Butler, Robbie Deegan, Billy O’Hora, Justin Leonard, Peter O’Beirne, Jerry Cahir, John McKee, Stewart Maguire, Patrick Dowling, Dean Moore, Colin Mallon, Ethan Baxter, Tom Ryan. Replacements: Joe Horan, Ryan McMahon, Will McDonald, Jack Breen, Briain Leonard, Jack Gilheany.

Gallery Below

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.