AIL Women: Malone 25 Galwegians 17

Published Categorised as 2021-22, All Ireland League Women, Club Rugby Women, Galwegians RFC, Malone RFC Tagged , , , , , , ,

Galwegians had a 460 mile round trip to play Malone in their first AIL encounter of the season, on Saturday afternoon at Gibson Park.

Report and images Bob Given Photography.

Both teams sounded each other out in the initial encounters and slowly Malone began to use their possession to score an unconverted try through Sarah Murphy after 13 minutes.

Malone consolidated their lead with unconverted tries by Bex Smyth and Sophie Armstrong after 17 and 32 minutes respectively.

Sarah Murphy opens the scoring for Malone

On the stroke of half-time Galwegians hit back with a try and conversion by Maria Gorham to leave Malone with a 15-7 lead at the break.

After a period, when defenses were on top Laoise McGonigle squeezed in in the corner for a Galwegians unconverted try, after 55 minutes.

Laoise McGonigle goes over for Galwegians at the start of the second half.

Not to be outdone Malone responded when Holly Brannigan broke from deep for a fine solo unconverted try on 66 minutes.

Emma Jordan’s unconverted try after 73 minutes seemed to wrap up the match up for Malone but Galwegians responded, as they sought a losing bonus point, when Niamh O’Grady scored an unconverted try on 78 minutes.

The Malone defense held out a final Galwegians attack to deny them a bonus point.

Malone have many positives to take with a bonus point win in their first AIL match of the season.

MALONE: Emma Jordan; Fern Wilson, Jill Stephens, Sophie Armstrong, Anna Stanfield; Peita McAlister (capt), Rachael McIlroy; Sarah Murphy, Aoife Cahill, Niamh McCloskey, Jasmine Ward, Hannah Beattie, Rebecca Smyth, Shirelle Wilson, Lauren Maginnes. Replacements: Ashleigh Currie, Chrissie McKee, Jo McMorris-Cloughley, Cara O’Neill, Erin Jones, Holly Brannigan.

GALWEGIANS: Maria Gorham; Camille Lassalle, Sarah Mullins, Saskia Morrissey, Laoise McGonagle; Ines Delgado, Mary Healy (capt); Jessica Loftus, Tracy Lawlor, Ellen Connelly, Lea Turner, Niamh O’Grady, Emily Gavin, Kate Feehan, Dearbhla Canty. Replacements: Kiara Irwin, Ruby Lynch, Rebecca Dunne, Max Deegan, Cassie O’Connell, Darwyn O’Halloran.

Gallery Below

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.