2018-19 Belfast Metropolitan College CE Bowman Cup Club Rugby Youth Randalstown RFC

Club Youth: CE Bowman Cup Final.

Belfast Metropolitan College claimed the CE Bowman Cup on Saturday afternoon at Ravenhill after beating Randalstown 24 – 7 in  the final. 

The teams had met at the end of March in the league play off finals with the Belfast side edging that game by a point but the students put a bit more distance between the teams this time out, outscoring their opponents by four tries to one.

Having said that, Randalstown contributed fully to an entertaining game played at a high standard and it could have been a lot closer if the cherry and whites had taken their chances.

As it was, the Met clocked up a 14 – 0 lead in the first half with tries from Stuart Wightman and Andrew Smyth, both converted by Rhys Cobain

Randalstown responded through a converted Stefhan Gabbidon-Lyttle try at the start of the second half to reduce the score to 14 – 7 but it was Belfast Met that were able to push on. 

Ross Warren and Jack Harper both crossed in the final quarter to consolidate the win and league and cup double for the Met. 

Belfast Met: Jake Curran, Hack Harper, James Wilson, Lewis Sproule, Matthew Kinnin, Lewis Wilson, Joshua Richardson, Andrew Smyth (c), Ben McDonagh, Rhys Cobain, Jack Lennon, Curtis Henry, Ross Warren, Stewart Wightman, Tom McKee. Replacements: Riley Proctor, Joe Kane, Jack Cochrane, Conor Foster, Adam Cheshire, Jack Rouget, David Laverty. 

Randalstown: Mark McQuillan, Ricardo Correia Da Conceicao, Ross Swann, Brandon McAllister, Joel McCavana, Matthew Luke, Dominic O’Connor, Jack McCarroll, Oran Gilbert, Peter Cullen, Jack Johnston, Cormac Devlin, Harvey McClurkin, Ciaran O’Neill, Stefhan Gabbidon-Lyttle. Replacements: Joshua Balmer, Glen Logan, Adam Manzoor, Conn McGee, Eoin McDonald, Caolan Walsh. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.