2016-17 Ballymena RFC Ballymoney RFC Club Rugby Men McCambley Cup

McCambley Cup Final: Ballymena 4 XV 16 Ballymoney 4 XV 14

Ballymena won the McCambley Cup final with an extra time 16 – 14 win against Ballymoney on Saturday afternoon at Ravenhill.

Ballymoney opened the scoring with two penalties from Cormac McCartney for a 0 – 6 lead before Davy O’Hara replied with a penalty and a drop goal to take the score to 6 all at the break.

McCartney and O’Hara traded penalties in the second half and with no further score the game went into extra time.

Ballymena got the day’s opening try with John Nicoll collecting his own kick ahead to touch down, O’Hara converted to give ‘Mena a seven point lead.

David Watson crossed out left for Ballymoney with the last attack of the game out left but McCartney was unable to convert leaving  Ballymena 16-14 winners.

Ballymena 4th XV: John Nicoll, David Ramsay, Rory Smith, Aubrey Crawford, Denver Suitters, Davy O’Hara, Richard McCrudden, Jimmy Allen, Davy Gaston, David McNeill, Paul McBride, Ian Caldwell, Noel Smith, Kevin Doherty, Davy Loughlin. Replacements: Neville Hill, James Carson, Steven Johnson.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.