Aaron Cairns in action in the GB7's. Picture from GB7.

Aaron Cairns in action in the GB7’s. Picture from GB7’s.

The Ireland team for the long and tortuous journey for qualification for the Sevens World Series and Olympics has been announced and after a successful début outing in the GB7’s last weekend we’re pleased to say that the team features three Ulster players, two of whom were in action in Edinburgh.

Ireland, in their inaugural outing as the Wolfhounds, featured Ballynahinch’s Aaron Cairns and Dave McGuigan in their second place finish in their group. They progressed to the semi-final of the main competition where they faced a North of England team attached to Newcastle Falcons and despite going 12 – 0 up they  butchered 3 other tries before the the English side came back to win 23 – 19.

This brought them into a 3rd place playoff against Samurai and despite an impressive try from Dave McGuigan  to bring score to 21 – 19  to Ireland, with a couple of mins to go, they were piped at the post to go down 21 -24.

However, it was a performance that exceeded pre-tournament expectation and the squad have been rewarded with 10 of the 12 players progressing into the Ireland side for the Rugby Europe Division C Tournament which takes place in Bosnia this weekend, Cian Aherne and former Dungannon/Malone player Michael Lawton being the additions to the squad from last week.

Ireland 7’s squad. Rugby Europe competition. 

1. Shane Layden (Buccaneers/Connacht)
2. Gearoid Lyons (Young Munster/Munster)
3. Diarmaid McCarthy (Young Munster/Munster)
4. Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
5. Aaron Cairns (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
6. Tom Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster) (capt)
7. David McGuigan (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
8. Harry McNulty (UCD/Leinster)
9. Cian Aherne (Lansdowne/Leinster)
10. Mark Roche (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11. Alex Wootton (Garryowen/Munster)
12. Michael Lawton (Exiles)

Ireland find themselves in Division C as they start their long qualification process. This weekend’s pool games as follows:

Rugby Europe Men’s Division C Tournament, Bosnia

Saturday 6th June.

Turkey v Ireland, 10.22am local time/9.22am UK/IRE
Belarus v Ireland, 2.28pm local time/1.28pm UK/IRE
Montenegro v Ireland, 4.22pm local time/3.22pm UK/IRE


Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.