2013-14 International Rugby U20 IRB Junior World Championship Ireland U20

JWC2014: Surprise win for Ireland against Wales.

Ireland's bonus point try scorer Cian Kelleher in action against Wales.
Ireland’s bonus point try scorer Cian Kelleher in action against Wales.

Well, it was certainly a surprise for me that Ireland U20’s managed to turn form around and record a rather comfortable 35 – 21 win against their Welsh counterparts this morning in New Zealand.

Ireland raced into a 14 point lead with a fourth minute try from Rory Burke and an 11th minute try from Gary Ringrose, both converted by Ross Byrne.

Wales hit back with two converted tries of their own (one a penalty try) but Ireland kept their noses in front at the break with Byrne adding a penalty to give Ireland a 17 – 14 lead at half time.

The Welsh upped their game at the start of the second half and scored an early converted try to go in front for the first time in the game with a 17 – 21 lead.

However from then on in it was all Ireland as Ringrose crossed for his second score minutes later. Byrne added the conversion and two penalties before Cian Kelleher grabbed a late bonus point try to give Ireland a comfortable 35 -21 win and a vital 5 points.

Ireland U20?s v Wales: Cian Kelleher, Ciaran Gaffney, Garry Ringrose, Dan Goggin, Alex Wootton, Ross Byrne, Nick McCarthy, Peter Dooley, Max Abbott, Rory Burke, Darragh Moloney, Ross Molony, Peadar Timmins, Frankie Taggart, Jack O’Donoghue. Replacements: Dylan Donnellan, Denis Coulson, Oisin Heffernan, Josh Murphy, Diarmaid Dee, Ryan Foley, Conor McKeon, Harrison Brewer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.