City of Derry were comfortable winners in Sunday afternoon’s Rosie Stewart Bowl Final, beating Carrickfergus 46 – 0. Despite the one sided scoreline a determined Carrick made the North West side work hard for their win.

Derry eased their nerves early in the first half with two quick tries from winger Natasha Milligan in the right corner taking the score to 10 – 0 before Carrick got into their stride.

The East Antrim side worked hard to get into the game and enjoyed a period of possession working their way into the Derry half. However a break by Derry scrum half Fundi Plaatjie was finished off by captain Daine Nixon who touched down under the posts. The try was converted by Rachel Lennox moving the score on to 17 – 0.

Carrick again worked the ball into the Derry half only for a loose pass to be scooped up by Plaatjie who sprinted clear from the halfway line to score. Lennox added the extras taking the score to 24 – 0.

Carrick were unlucky not to get on the score sheet towards the end of the first half when they kept Derry pinned in their own 22 but the Derry defence held firm with the teams turning round with the score reading 24 – 0.

Derry got off the mark quickly at the start of the second half with Bridin McDermott scoring in the corner for an unconverted try and shortly after Lennox finished off a break by Kelly Holmes for a well deserved try for the hard working full back, pushing the score to 34 – 0.

Carrick continued to compete and forced Derry onto the back foot but another long range score from the pacey Plaatjie, converted by Lennox,  knocked them back with the score now 41 – 0.

Derry’s substitute winger Ciara McGurk completed the scoring, after another break from Holmes, to take the final score to City of Derry 46 Carrickfergus 0.

City of Derry: Gemma Lynch, Stacey Lea Kennedy, Kylie Boyle, Katie Lorenti, Julie Simpson, Glenda Mellon, Mandisa Williams, Diane Nixon, Fundi Plaatjie, Susie Tinney, Andrea Shepherd, Kelly Holmes, Bridin McDermott, Natasha Milligan, Rachel Lennox, Kelly Gormley, Julie Newton, Alice Wylie, Ciara McGurk, Naomi Lander, Naomi Seaman, Lisa Pflugradt

Carrick: Suzanna McVeigh, Rosie McKee, Lydine Wilson, Nikki Deehan, Joanne McIlwaine, Louise McAuley, Claire McAtamney, Helen Smyth, Sabrina Higgins, Alyson Hughes, Claire Kirkwood, Louise Andrews, Laura Todd, Lauryn McArthur, Jenna McCammon, Amiee Ellis, Suzie Cavan, Yana Tweed, Pauline Hanna




Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.