Interprovincial: Teams up for Leinster v Ulster.

Published Categorised as 2018-19, Interprovincials, Leinster Women, Provincial Rugby Women, Ulster Women Tagged ,

The teams have been announced for the first of this seasons’ Interprovincial matches, and it’s a bit of a step into the unknown for both sides.

Leinster Women have announced a team containing 10 new caps and face a massive task replacing some of their recently retired internationals. However they still have a core of experienced internationals up front and that is generally where these matches are won.

With Ulster still  looking for a win in this competition since December 2012 it would be a stretch to say that they go into this game as favourites, but I would be surprised if they haven’t targeted this game for a result. Ulster have marginally more experience of the AIL in their squad and they are a year further down the line in introducing their successful U18 players from 2016 into the senior side. Unfortunately most of that year was spent out of camp, given the still chronic underfunding of the women’s game across all the provinces.

The late switching of the Interprovincials from December to September also hasn’t helped any of the provinces preparations, with many players having holidays already arranged, so this could be one of the closest competitions for some time.

Ulster’s Women’s Coach Derek Suffern has stretched his net a bit wider in his second season in charge to include players from Ballynahinch, Ballyshannon, Blackrock, Cavan, Cooke, City of Derry, Malone, Old Belvedere, Railway Union and Virginia in a team that will be captained by the experienced Larissa Muldoon.

While we will continue to Stand Up For The Ulster Women this really is a season where they need to stand up for themselves and get that big W on their side of the score sheet, no better time to start than tomorrow night.


Lauren Farrell McCabe15Larissa Muldoon
Gemma Matthews14Eliza Downey
Michelle Claffey13Maeve Liston
Sene Naoupu12Vicky Irwin
Elise O’ Byrne White11Emma Jordan
Nikki Caughey10Jemma Jackson
Ellen Murphy9Kathryn Dane
Lindsay Peat1Ilse van Staden
Emma Hooban2Neve Jones
Katie O’Dwyer3Sorcha Mac Lamhin
Aoife McDermott4Lauren  Maginnes
Meg Kendall5Rebecca Lawlor
Jeamie Deacon6Bethany McDowell
Juliet Short7Claire McLaughlin
Hannah O’Connor8Beth Cregan
Ann Marie Rooney16Michelle Gormley-McLaughlin
Christy Haney17Shannon Heaps
Linda Djougang18Aishling O’Connell
Mairead Holohan19Kathryn Hanna
Nicole Purdom20Keelin Brady
Niamh Griffin21Pieta McAlister
Nicole Carroll22Diane Ramsey
Ray Lawless23Ella Durkan

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.