Categories
2014-15 International Rugby Women Ireland Women Rugby World Cup Women RWC2014

WRWC2014: Ireland Women Stats

The stats probably go a long way to pinpointing the reasons behind Ireland’s two losses in the final stages of the 2014 Women’s Rugby World Cup. Going into the final rounds Ireland had a core of 13 players who had been involved in the three pool games with three key players, Lynne Cantwell, Tania Rosser and Gill Bourke each totalling over 200 minutes on the pitch over 9 days, including two particularly brutal games against the USA and, of course, New Zealand.

By the end of the tournament a core of 11 players had featured in all five matches with the front row of Fiona Coghlan, Bourke and Ailis Egan all averaging over 60 minutes each on the pitch over the five games. In the end Bourke played a phenomenal 377 minute in total or 75 minutes per match! Next up was Rosser who averaged 70 minutes per game, closely followed by Coghlan who averaged 69.

Tournament Play

Unfortunately injuries to experienced players such as Stacey Lea Kennedy, Amy Davis and Niamh Kavanagh pre World Cup, and the insistence of the IRFU to have particularly small senior squads and the lack of any sort of competition outside of the highly competitive Six Nations tournament left Ireland short of experienced replacements meaning the four key games featured largely the same players.

No slight on the squad players who stood in for the game against Kazakhstan but they have just not had the opportunity to gain the experience required to perform at the highest level. As it was four of the tiny squad of 26 featured in only that one game.

While the women’s club game has improved slightly over the last four years it still has a long way to go. Too few games and even fewer actual competitive fixtures leaves a huge gap between the club/provincial player and the international elite.

It is remarkable what such a small pool of players has achieved over he last two years, producing the two best runs in their history with seven straight wins in 2013/14, picking up the Grand Slam along the way and five straight wins in the build up to and participation in the World Cup pushing their 2 year win average up to unprecedented highs of 80% at the end of 2013 and 76% at the end of the World Cup though they should really get bonus ratings for that win against New Zealand!

2 year win average

New Zealand are the 16th opponent that Ireland have faced and are one of the few that Ireland has a 100% win ratio against 🙂 the others being Germany, Netherlands and South Africa. However Ireland’s all time win ratio is still only 38%, showing what a truly remarkable period of success we are now enjoying.

Last Five

The full list of Ireland Women’s Rugby Fixtures from 1993 to date is shown below.

DateCompetitionOpponentsFor AgainstLocation
Sun, 14 Feb 1993FriendlyScotland010AwayRaeburn Place, Edinburgh
Sun, 13 Feb 1994FriendlyScotland05HomeRavenhill, Belfast
Fri, 15 Apr 1994World CupFrance031N/AWest of Scotland RFC
Sun, 17 Apr 1994World CupUSA076N/ABoroughmuir
Wed, 20 Apr 1994World CupScotland310N/AMelrose
Sat, 23 Apr 1994World CupJapan113N/aBoroughmuir
Mon, 20 Feb 1995FriendlyScotland320AwayMyreside, Edinburgh
Fri, 3 Mar 1995FriendlyFrance1039HomeDublin
Sun, 21 Jan 1996Home NationsScotland021HomeBlackrock
Sun, 3 Mar 1996Home NationsWales226HomeOld Belvedere RFC, Dublin
Sun, 17 Mar 1996Home NationsEngland812AwaySunbury
Sun, 26 Jan 1997Home NationsWales532AwayBridgend
Sun, 9 Feb 1997Home NationsEngland032HomeLimerick
Sun, 23 Feb 1997Home NationsScotland328AwayPennypit, Edinburgh
Thu, 3 Apr 1997FIRASpain027N/ANice, France
Fri, 4 Apr 1997FIRAItaly513N/ANice, France
Sun, 6 Apr 1997FIRAGermany160N/ANice, France
Sun, 9 Nov 1997FriendlyGermany326AwayHamburg
Sun, 8 Feb 1998Home NationsScotland015HomeOld Belvedere RFC, Dublin
Sun, 22 Mar 1998Home NationsWales1027HomeOld Crescent RFC, Rosbrien
Sun, 5 Apr 1998Home NationsEngland862AwayWorcester
Sat, 2 May 1998World CupAustralia021N/AAmsterdam
Tue, 5 May 1998World CupKazakhstan612N/AAmsterdam
Sat, 9 May 1998World CupNetherlands2118N/AAmsterdam
Tue, 12 May 1998World CupItaly205N/AAmsterdam
Fri, 15 May 1998World CupKazakhstan1026N/AAmsterdam
Sun, 7 Feb 1999Five NationsFrance024HomeDublin
Sun, 28 Feb 1999Five NationsWales026AwayUnknown
Sun, 7 Mar 1999Five NationsEngland056HomeDublin
Wed, 31 Mar 1999Five NationsScotland522AwayInverleith, Edinburgh
Mon, 8 May 2000FIRAFrance1441N/AEl Ejido, Spain
Wed, 10 May 2000FIRAKazakhstan1531N/AVera, Spain
Sat, 13 May 2000FIRANetherlands1912N/AEl Ejido, Spain
Sat, 3 Feb 2001FriendlySpain042AwayMadrid
Fri, 16 Feb 2001FriendlyFrance053HomeDublin
Sun, 6 May 2001FIRAFrance945N/AMarquette les Lille, France
Sat, 12 May 2001FIRAItaly98N/ALille, France
Sun, 10 Jun 2001FIRAWales1015N/ALille, France
Sun, 3 Feb 2002Six NationsWales513HomeThomond Park, Limerick
Sun, 17 Feb 2002Six NationsEngland079AwayWorcester
Sat, 2 Mar 2002Six NationsScotland013HomeLimerick
Mon, 25 Mar 2002Six NationsSpain68HomeLimerick
Fri, 5 Apr 2002Six NationsFrance046AwayMelun
Mon, 13 May 2002World CupCanada057N/ABarcelona
Fri, 17 May 2002World CupSamoa022N/ABarcelona
Mon, 20 May 2002World CupGermany180N/ABarcelona
Fri, 24 May 2002World CupJapan018N/ABarcelona
Sun, 16 Feb 2003Six NationsScotland025AwayNetherdale, Galashields
Sun, 23 Feb 2003Six NationsSpain160AwayMadrid
Sun, 9 Mar 2003Six NationsFrance020HomeLimerick
Fri, 21 Mar 2003Six NationsWales017AwayCardiff Arms Park
Fri, 28 Mar 2003Six NationsEngland346HomeThomond Park RFC, Limerick
Sun, 15 Feb 2004Six NationsFrance522AwaySavigny sur Orge, Paris
Sat, 21 Feb 2004Six NationsWales1314HomeThomond Park, Limerick
Sat, 6 Mar 2004Six NationsEngland1051AwayTwickenham, London
Sat, 20 Mar 2004Six NationsSpain78HomeThomond Park, Limerick
Sat, 27 Mar 2004Six NationsScotland017HomeThomond Park, Limerick
Sat, 1 May 2004FIRAWales724N/AToulouse, France
Wed, 5 May 2004FIRAItaly145N/AToulouse, France
Sat, 8 May 2004FIRASpain2012N/AToulouse, France
Sun, 24 Oct 2004FriendlyNetherlands150AwayAmsterdam
Sun, 14 Nov 2004FriendlyJapan550HomeDonnybrook, Dublin
Sat, 5 Feb 2005Six NationsSpain1719AwayCampo Central, Madrid
Sat, 12 Feb 2005Six NationsScotland515AwayMurrayfield
Sat, 26 Feb 2005Six NationsEngland032HomeSt Mary’s College, Dublin
Sun, 13 Mar 2005Six NationsFrance034HomeDublin
Fri, 18 Mar 2005Six NationsWales116AwayArms Park, Cardiff
Wed, 25 Jan 2006FriendlyUSA523Home?
Sat, 4 Feb 2006Six NationsSpain2510HomeDonnybrook, Dublin
Fri, 10 Feb 2006Six NationsFrance032AwayMontauban, Toulouse
Sat, 25 Feb 2006Six NationsWales714HomeDonnybrook, Dublin
Fri, 10 Mar 2006Six NationsScotland09HomeNavan
Fri, 17 Mar 2006Six NationsEngland1029AwayOld Albanians, St Albans
Sat, 29 Apr 2006FriendlyCanada158HomeGalway
Thu, 31 Aug 2006World CupFrance043N/ASt. Albert Rugby Park, St. Albert
Mon, 4 Sep 2006World CupUSA1124N/AEllerslie Rugby Park, Edmonton
Fri, 8 Sep 2006World CupSouth Africa370N/ASt. Albert Rugby Park, St. Albert
Tue, 12 Sep 2006World CupScotland1011N/ASt. Albert Rugby Park, St. Albert
Sat, 16 Sep 2006World CupAustralia1418N/AEllerslie Rugby Park, Edmonton
Sat, 3 Feb 2007Six NationsWales510AwayTaffs Well RFC, Cardiff
Sat, 10 Feb 2007Six NationsFrance1013HomeSt Mary’s RFC, Dublin
Sun, 25 Feb 2007Six NationsEngland032HomeThomond Park, Limerick
Sat, 10 Mar 2007Six NationsScotland186AwayMeggetland, Edinburgh
Sat, 17 Mar 2007Six NationsItaly1712AwayTre Fontane, Rome
Fri, 1 Feb 2008Six NationsItaly190HomeSt Mary’s RFC, Dublin
Sun, 10 Feb 2008Six NationsFrance1726AwaySt Gratien
Fri, 22 Feb 2008Six NationsScotland133HomeSt Mary’s RFC, Dublin
Fri, 7 Mar 2008Six NationsWales1019HomeSt Mary’s RFC, Dublin
Sat, 15 Mar 2008Six NationsEngland717AwayLondon Irish
Sat, 17 May 2008FIRASpain417N/AAmsterdam
Tue, 20 May 2008FIRAEngland1122N/ADrachten, Netherlands
Sat, 24 May 2008FIRAFrance2222N/AAmsterdam
Fri, 6 Feb 2009Six NationsFrance75HomeAshbourne
Sat, 14 Feb 2009Six NationsItaly3517AwayStadio M.Natali, Colleferro
Fri, 27 Feb 2009Six NationsEngland1329HomeSt Mary’s RFC, Dublin
Fri, 13 Mar 2009Six NationsScotland230AwayMeggetland
Sat, 21 Mar 2009Six NationsWales1310AwayTaffs Well
Fri, 5 Feb 2010Six NationsItaly225HomeAshbourne
Fri, 12 Feb 2010Six NationsFrance919AwayStade des Allées, Blois, Loir-et-Cher
Sun, 28 Feb 2010Six NationsEngland522AwayPillar Data Arena, Esher, Surrey
Fri, 12 Mar 2010Six NationsWales183HomeAshbourne
Fri, 19 Mar 2010Six NationsScotland153HomeAshbourne
Fri, 20 Aug 2010World CupEngland027N/ASurrey Sports Park, Guildford
Tue, 24 Aug 2010World CupUSA2212N/ASurrey Sports Park, Guildford
Sat, 28 Aug 2010World CupKazakhstan373N/ASurrey Sports Park, Guildford
Wed, 1 Sep 2010World CupUSA340N/ASurrey Sports Park, Guildford
Sun, 5 Sep 2010World CupScotland328N/ASurrey Sports Park, Guildford
Sun, 6 Feb 2011Six NationsItaly265AwayRovigo
Fri, 11 Feb 2011Six NationsFrance1214HomeAshbourne
Sat, 26 Feb 2011Six NationsScotland225AwayLasswade
Sun, 13 Mar 2011Six NationsWales1415AwayCross Keys RFC
Fri, 18 Mar 2011Six NationsEngland1415HomeAshbourne
Sat, 11 Feb 2012Six NationsFrance78AwayStade de Hameau, Pau
Fri, 24 Feb 2012Six NationsItaly4010HomeAshbourne RFC
Sat, 3 Mar 2012Six NationsWales360HomeAshbourne RFC
Fri, 9 Mar 2012Six NationsScotland200HomeAshbourne RFC
Sat, 17 Mar 2012Six NationsEngland623AwayEsher RFC
Sun, 3 Feb 2013Six NationsWales1210AwayAberavon
Sat, 9 Feb 2013Six NationsEngland250HomeAshbourne RFC
Sat, 23 Feb 2013Six NationsScotland303AwayLasswade
Fri, 8 Mar 2013Six NationsFrance1510HomeAshbourne RFC
Sun, 17 Mar 2013Six NationsItaly63AwayParabiago, Milan
Fri, 31 Jan 2014Six NationsScotland590HomeAshbourne RFC
Fri, 7 Feb 2014Six NationsWales186HomeAshbourne RFC
Sat, 22 Feb 2014Six NationsEngland1017AwayTwickenham, London
Sat, 8 Mar 2014Six NationsItaly390HomeAviva Stadium, Dublin
Fri, 14 Mar 2014Six NationsFrance1519AwayStade du Hameau, Pau
Sat, 5 Jul 2014FriendlySpain3620AwayValladolid, Spain
Sun, 20 Jul 2014FriendlyWales277HomeMalahide RFC
Fri, 1 Aug 2014World CupUSA2317N/AMarcoussis, France
Tue, 5 Aug 2014World CupNew Zealand1714N/AMarcoussis, France
Sat, 9 Aug 2014World CupKazakhstan405N/AMarcoussis, France
Wed, 13 Aug 2014World CupEngland740N/AStade Jean Bouin, Paris, France
Sun, 17 Aug 2014World CupFrance1825N/AStade Jean Bouin, Paris, France

One reply on “WRWC2014: Ireland Women Stats”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.