Ireland U20: Squad announced for pre Six Nations hitout.

Published Categorised as Friendly, International Rugby U20, Ireland U20, Leinster Academy Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,
Conor Rankin joins seven other Ulster youngsters in the Ireland U20 extended squad.

The Ireland U20s, sponsored by PwC, will step up their preparations for the rescheduled U20 Six Nations when they face Leinster ‘A’ at Energia Park on Friday afternoon (Kick-off 1pm).

Head Coach Richie Murphy, along with Assistant Coaches Colm Tucker and Denis Leamy, have been working with an extended squad at the IRFU High Performance Centre this week, as Ireland continue to build towards the Championship in Cardiff.

The extended squad of 32 players features 8 Ulster lads with Queen’s University’s James Humphreys, Conor McKee, George Saunderson, and Oscar Egan included alongside Banbridge’s Ben Carson, Malone’s Conor Rankin, Ballynahinch’s Reuben Crothers and Harry Sheridan who is at Dublin University.

Joe McCarthy, who featured in the Ireland second row during last season’s U20 Six Nations campaign, will captain the side on Friday, with Murphy hoping to maximise the playing opportunities for his panel over the course of the 80 minutes.

Commenting ahead of Friday’s game, the Head Coach said:

We’ve had two really positive camps at the High Performance Centre, and the group is making good progress in our preparations for the Six Nations campaign. Friday’s game against Leinster ‘A’ will be an important step for us in our preparations, as we look to implement the hard work on the training pitch into a match situation.

Ireland open their Six Nations campaign against Scotland at Cardiff Arms Park on 19 June, before facing Wales in Round 2 on 25 June. Murphy’s side will go head-to-head with England on 1 July, before concluding the Championship with ties against Italy on 7 July and France on 13 July.

There will be coverage of Friday’s game at Energia Park on Irish Rugby social media channels and

Ireland U20 (from): Chris Cosgrave (UCD RFC/Leinster), Chay Mullins (Bristol Bears/IQ Rugby), Jamie Osborne (Naas RFC/Leinster), Ben Carson (Banbridge RFC/Ulster), Shane Jennings (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht), Cian Whooley (UCC RFC/Munster), Ben Murphy (Old Wesley RFC/Leinster), Jack Boyle (UCD RFC/Leinster), Ronan Loughnane (UCD RFC/Leinster), Sam Illo (Old Wesley RFC/Leinster), Harry Sheridan (Dublin University FC/Ulster), Joe McCarthy (Dublin University FC/Leinster), Donnacha Byrne (Sligo RFC/Connacht), Diarmuid McCormack (Dublin University FC/Connacht), Daniel Okeke (Shannon RFC/Munster), Jamie Shanahan (Garryowen FC/Munster), Conor Rankin (Malone RFC/Ulster), Alan Flannery (Shannon RFC/Munster), Cathal Forde (Corinthian RFC/Connacht), Hubert Gilvarry (Sligo RFC/Connacht), Aaron Leahy (Garryowen RFC/Munster), James Humphreys (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster), Conor McKee (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster), George Saunderson (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster), Eoin de Buitlear (Corinthians RFC/Connacht), Mark Donnelly (Garryowen RFC/Munster), Jack Kelleher (UCC RFC/Munster), Reuben Crothers (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster), Oisin McCormack (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht), Alex Kendellen (UCC RFC/Munster), Oscar Egan (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster), Liam Bishop (Nottingham RFC/IQ Rugby).

Leinster ‘A’: Rob Russell, Donal Conroy, Marcus Kiely, David Hawkshaw (Captain), Josh O’Connor, Tim Corkery, Cormac Foley, Michael Milne, John McKee, Vakh Abdaladze, Mark Morrissey, Ryan Baird, Martin Moloney, Aaron Coleman, Mark Boyle. Replacements: Dan Sheehan, Marcus Hanan/Temi Lasisi, Greg McGrath, Ruairi Clarke, Will Reilly, Harry Colbert.

Referee: Eoghan Cross (IRFU).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.