Ballynahinch claimed the AIL1B title yesterday, and promotion into AIL 1A, with a comprehensive 41 – 15 win against St Mary’s College. The Ballymacarn outfit brought their form at exactly the right time recording six straight wins to claim promotion.

The result also enabled Malone to leapfrog St Mary’s into a play of spot which was achieved with a 32 – 0 win against fellow Ulster side Ballymena. The Braid men consigned to relegation into AIL 2A for a few rounds now.

Banbridge, who also leapfrogged St Mary’s, finished in fifth place after a big 34 – 14 win against Old Belvedere.  While a decent enough finish, the ambitious club will be disappointed that they missed out on a play off place this season.

Ulster’s other side in the league, City of Armagh, achieved their stated aim of staying up, in what was their first season in AIL1B, though they will be disappointed to finish the season in 8th place following three straight defeats.

We’ll have all the stats up for all the teams in AIL 1B tomorrow (Monday).

We did hope to bring you photos from the action at Ballymacarn Park and Gibson Park but, while our jet setting photographer made it back from Edinburgh on time, unfortunately, his camera case didn’t, arriving a flight later!

We will however be able to continue our Malone love in, following their Women’s win against Westport yesterday in their AIL promotion play off, as we do have pictures from Gibson Park.


Malone’s tries came from Dave Cave, Andy Bryans (3) and Jack Owens with Callum Smith converting two and adding a penalty.

MALONE: Jack Owens; Nathan Brown, Stewart Moore, Josh Pentland, Andy Bryans; Callum Smith, Shane Kelly; Ben Halliday, Dave Cave, Ricky Greenwood, James McAllister, Stuart Doddington, Joe Dunleavy, Ross Todd (capt), Ryan Clarke. Replacements: Scott Finlay, Lee Barlow, Josh Davidson, Graham Curtis, Rory Campbell.

BALLYMENA: Tim Small; Eoin Ritson, Matthew Norris, Glenn Baillie, Sam Millar; Bruce Houston, Michael Stronge; Nacho Cladera Crespo, Jonny Spence, Chris Cundell, Ian Caldwell, Connor Smyth, Phil Campbell, Marcus Rea (capt), Clive Ross. Replacements: Houston Bonnar, Scott Agnew, Josh Bill, Matthew Dick, Jonny Rosborough.

Picture credit – Richard Owens. 



Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.