Girls Schools Cup. Enniskillen Royal Grammar 12 Erne Integrated College 10

Published Categorised as 2019-20, Enniskillen Royal Grammar School, Erne Integrated College, Schools Cup, Schools Senior Tagged , , , , , , ,
Enniskillen Royal Grammar retain the Girls Schools Cup with a 12 - 10 win against Erne Integrated College at Ravenhill.

Enniskillen Royal Grammar continued their dominance of the Girls Schools Cup with a hard fought win against, near neighbours, Erne Integrated College at Ravenhill on Wednesday morning. However, Erne pushed them all the way in this entertaining X7s final.

Photo credit John McMurtry and Bob Given Photography

Lucy Thompson breaks clear for the opening score.

The Grammar’s Lucy Thompson started the scoreboard ticking over with the first of two tries with Catherine Graham and Jodie Browne following soon after as the Royal’s raced to a 4 – 0 lead. However, Erne’s Moya Hill and Cora Balfour pulled it back to 4 – 2 at the end of the first quarter.

Moya Hill eyes the try line for Erne

The second quarter ended at 6 – 4 as Hill crossed for her second to be joined by co-captain Sophie Barrett. Lea Williamson and Thompson keeping the Grammar in front.

Sophie Barrett goes over for Erne.

In a powerful third quarter Thompson crossed for two more, to take her personal total to five, with Enniskillen captain India Daley crossing for a brace. Balfour and Barrett each scored for Erne but the Grammar had extended their lead to 10 – 6 as the teams went into the final quarter.

India Daley powers clear for Enniskillen.

Barrett led the charge for Erne in the final quarter with two tries to ad to one from Balfour, but a Graham brace kept Enniskillen in front to secure the Cup at the final whistle.

Final Score: Enniskillen Royal Grammar School 12 Erne Integrated College 10

Enniskillen Royal Grammar School: Sarah Mullan, Jodie Browne, Katie Elliott, Catherine Graham, Ellen Bloomfield, India Daley (Capt.), Lucy Thompson, Alex Carson, Lea Williamson, Erin Brown, Millie Cannings, Alice Parkinson.

Erne Integrated College: Cora Balfour, Sarah Balfour, Sophie Barrett (CC), Amy Elder, Moya Hill (CC), Kelly Quinn, Ciara Woods, Eve Elder, Tori Robinson, Naoise Whitely, Toni Whitely, Alex McKinney.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.