2013 Women Six Nations

Ireland women claimed the right to sit at the top tier of women’s International rugby with a 25 – 0 victory over England in an outstanding display of controlled aggression in defence and composure under pressure in attack.

The 2013 Women Six Nations was the 12th series of the competition.

Ireland won their first championship, picking up the Triple Crown and the Grand Slam as they progressed through the competition undefeated. The Irish campaign was memorable due to their outstanding defence, the team conceding only two tries the whole tournament, and their small selection pool with only 25 players named across the five match squads.

Ireland Squad

Coach: Philip Doyle

Forwards: Ailis Egan, Claire Molloy, Fiona Coghlan (C), Fiona Hayes, Gill Bourke, Heather O’Brien, Joy Neville, Laura Guest, Lauren Day, Leigh Dargan, Marie Louise Reilly, Siobhan Fleming, Sophie Spence, Stacey Lea Kennedy.

Backs: Alison Miller, Amy Davis, Ashleigh Baxter, Grace Davitt, Jenny Murphy, Larissa Muldoon, Lynne Cantwell, Niamh Briggs, Niamh Kavanagh, Nora Stapleton, Shannon Huston.

Ireland Fixtures and Results
03 Feb 2013Wales10Ireland12Port Talbot
09 Feb 2013Ireland25England0Ashbourne
23 Feb 2013Scotland3Ireland30Bonnyrigg
08 Mar 2013Ireland15France10Ashbourne
17 Mar 2013Italy3Ireland6Parabiago
2013 Women Six Nations Final Table
Ireland scorers and minutes played
Niamh Briggs40035643
Alison Miller400525
Sophie Spence37915
Ailis Egan37515
Gillian Bourke34615
Siobhan Fleming31515
Joy Neville4000
Lynne Cantwell4000
Marie Louise Reilly4000
Fiona Coghlan (C)3890
Claire Molloy3750
Larissa Muldoon3670
Nora Stapleton3380
Jennifer Murphy2990
Ashleigh Baxter2170
Niamh Kavanagh1830
Grace Davitt1630
Laura Guest1010
Stacey-Lea Kennedy530
Amy Davis330
Lauren Day250
Fiona Hayes110
Leigh Dargan110
Heather O’Brien00
Shannon Huston00
* 20 minutes deducted for two yellow cards.

Associated Posts

[post_grid id=’193598′]