2010 Women’s Rugby World Cup

The 2010 Women’s rugby World Cup was the 6th tournament to be held by World rugby, or the International rugby Board as it was then. It was held at Surrey Sports Park, Guildford with the final ‘s played at the Stoop, home of Harlequins RFC.

Ireland Women, coached by Philip Doyle and captained by Fiona Coghlan, finished 7th in the competition having missed out on qualification for a top four finish on points difference.

There were originally two Ulster Women’s players due to take part, Eliza Downey and Lauren Day, both from Cooke RFC. Unfortunately Lauren Day broke her wrist in a warm up match and was forced to withdraw.

However, both Day and Downey added to our coverage throughout the tournament.

Ireland Squad

Backs: Louise Beamish, Niamh Briggs, Helen Brosnan, Lynne Cantwell, Amy Davis, Eliza Downey, Shannon Houston, Mairead Kelly, Joanne O’Sullivan, Tania Rosser, Jackie Shiels, Nora Stapleton.

Forwards: Louise Austin, Gill Bourke, Orla Brennan, Fiona Coghlan (C), Laura Guest, Chris Fanning, Caroline Mahon, Claire Molloy, Joy Neville, Yvonne Nolan, Kate O’Loughlin, Marie Louise Reilly, Sinead Ryan, Carol Staunton.


Pool BEngland270Ireland
Pool BIreland2212USA
Pool BIreland373Kazakhstan
5th Place SFIreland340USA
7th Place FinalIreland328Scotland


Joy Neville420
Niamh Briggs44234
Tania Rosser15
Louise Beamish15
Orla Brennan210
Kate O’Loughlin15
Eliza Downey315

You can view all our articles related to the 2010 Women’s Rugby World Cup below, including those bonus articles from Eliza Downey and Lauren Day.

Associated posts