Six Nations: Andy Farrell announces Irish squad

, ,

Andy Farrell includes two uncapped players and five Ulstermen in his 36-man squad for the Six Nations which starts a week on Saturday.

Tom O’Toole and Munster’s nippy scrum half Craig Casey are the uncapped players, likely to make their debuts in the upcoming competition. Stuart McCloskey, Billy Burns, Rob Herring and Iain Henderson join O’Toole as the Ulster representatives in the squad.

Henderson is currently injured, but with his previous early returns he’s likely to play a part in the upcoming campaign. Burns will be fighting with Ross Byrne for the back up 10 shirt and I think both deserve another chance to perform in the international arena. With Robbie Henshaw, Garry Ringrose and Bundee Aki all fit, I’m not optimistic that McCloskey will see much action in a green shirt. Jacob Stockdale remains injured and therefore is not named in the squad.

There’s . . .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.