The teams have been announced for the U18 Women’s Interprovincial match between Ulster and Connacht which takes place tomorrow afternoon at Queen’s Sport Arena. Kick off 13:00.

With both sides likely to face each other in a fortnights time, in the knockout semi finals, it’ll be interesting to see how this one plays out. Poor planning for these early round games means that both these sides continue to miss key players to the Sevens programme. It’s a real pity and a huge backward step for the underage club game.

Ulster have made only one change as Zara Flack (Enniskillen) opts to return to XV’s rugby after being held back for an Ireland 7s camp last week. Connacht.on the other hand have made a dramatic nine changes to the side that beat Munster last week.

You would think that with such limited XV’s experience, and only really one evening session this week, that nine changes would be hard to absorb, for the visiting side, and Ulster go into this one as clear favourites.

However, the key game will be in a fortnights time and I expect both teams will keep their powder dry, to an extent, in this one.

Current standings. 

Leinster U1822007730471362010
Ulster U1821013750-1378105
Connacht U1821012039-1947004
Munster U1820021227-1525011


Ulster U18Connacht U18
Farrah McCloskey (Enniskillen)15Hannah Gullane (c) (Ballinasloe)
Sophie Kinghan (Dundalk)14Avril Deely (Ballinasloe)
Zara Flack (Enniskillen)13Fodhla Ni Bhraonain (Corinthians)
Moya Hill (Enniskillen)12Maeve Muldoon (Ballinasloe)
Emma Ryan (Virginia)11Alana Roche (Oughterard)
Toni Macartney (Larne)10Caoimhe Geraghty (Corinthians)
Sarah Shrestha (Dungannon)9Aisling Browne (Westport)
Ella Garland (Cooke)1Mary McLoughlin (Westport)
Aoife Cahill (Malone)2Molly Ager (Claremorris)
Ava Fannin (c) (Virginia)3Aimee Kelly (Buccaneers)
Kim Johnston (Dungannon)4Mollie Starr (Portumna)
Taryn Schutzler (Malone)5Faith Oviawe (Buccaneers)
Rachel McGee (Ballyshannon)6Katelyn Bourke (Ballina)
Erin Carson (Malone)7Hannah Johnston (Sligo)
Sophie Barrett (Enniskillen)8Leah Hogarty (Ballinasloe)
Cara O’Neill (Malone)16Emily Gavin (Ballinasloe)
Hannah Cooney (Malone)17Zara Grehan (Ballinasloe)
Delyth Cook (Ballyclare)18Aisling Hahessy (Claremorris)
S.Cassdiy Campbell (Ballyclare)19Hannah Coen (Creggs)
Jennifer Collins (Donaghadee)20Rachel Larkin (Ballinasloe)
Lauren Kilfedder (Enniskillen)21Olivia Haverty (Portumna)
Lucy Thompson (Enniskillen)22Meghan Walsh (Connemara)
Jana McQuillan (Larne)23Katie Hogan (Westport)

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.