Ireland Women’s Head Coach Adam Griggs has made three changes to the starting line up for Friday nights game against Scotland Women at Scotstoun Stadium, kick off 19:30 with live coverage on BBC Sport and RTE.

Alison Miller replaces Megan Williams on the wing, Anna Caplice comes into the back row to replace Juliet Short and Emma Hooban starts at hooker replacing, in effect, Fiona Reidy.

Williams and Reidy drop to the bench and Short is replaced by Enniskillen native Claire Boles, who joins her Dublin based Ulster Rugby teammates Kathryn Dane and Claire McLaughlin on the bench. Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird comes into the squad as replacement hooker following her exploits last weekend with Ireland Women Sevens side in Australia.

It’s a game both sides need to win following disappointing performances against England and Italy last weekend. Both sides fell away dramatically in the second half of their respective games with Scotland losing 7 – 28 to a resurgent Italy and Ireland we’re well outmuscled by England who ran in eight tries to win 7 – 51.

Ireland have only lost once to Scotland in their twelve meeting in this fixture, however, that one defeat was last season at Donnybrook and the hosts will be aware that if they can match the Irish pack they will have a good chance of a win.

However, the return of Miller to Ireland’s wing increases their attacking strength substantially and, with Scotland missing the wonderful Jade Konkel up front, I suspect that Ireland should be too strong for their hosts.

Scotland Women Ireland Women
Chloe Rollie 15 Lauren Delany
Liz Musgrove 14 Eimear Considine
Hannah Smith 13 Sene Naoupu
Lisa Thomson 12 Michelle Claffey
Annabel Sergeant 11 Alison Miller
Helen Nelson 10 Nicole Fowley
Mhairi Grieve 9 Ailsa Hughes
Lisa Cockburn 1 Laura Feely
Lana Skeldon 2 Emma Hooban
Megan Kennedy 3 Leah Lyons
Emma Wassell 4 Aoife McDermott
Debs McCormack 5 Nichola Fryday
Rachel Malcolm 6 Anna Caplice
Rachel McLachlan 7 Claire Molloy
Sarah Bonar 8 Ciara Griffin
Jodie Rettie 16 Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird
Katie Dougan 17 Linda Djougang
Mairi Forsyth 18 Fiona Reidy
Sophie Anderson 19 Claire Boles
Nicola Howat 20 Claire McLaughlin
Sarah Law 21 Kathryn Dane
Lisa Martin 22 Ellen Murphy
Rhona Lloyd 23 Megan Williams