Interprovincial: Teams Up for Connacht v Ulster

Published Categorised as 2018-19, Connacht Women, Interprovincials, Provincial Rugby Women, Ulster Women Tagged , , , , , ,

The teams for Ulster Women’s final Interprovincial match, against Connacht, have been announced. The game takes place at the Sportsgrounds on Saturday afternoon, kick off 2:30 pm.

Ulster have made a few changes with Ella Durkin coming in for the injured Emma Jordan and Aishling O’Connell swaps with Shannon Heapes in the front row. Brittany Hogan is unavailable due to Ireland 7s duties so Diane Ramsey returns to the squad and Chloe McIlwaine comes in for what should be her first cap.

Unfortunately, both sides are well out of championship contention but the game is an important milestone for Ulster in particular as the match will mark their 6 year anniversary of their last win and, frankly, that’s long enough!

Ulster do go into the game as marginal favourites in that they’ve “bothered” the big two, Leinster and Munster, more than Connacht have this series. Ulster’s try bonus point, picked up last week against Munster, the main difference between these sides as can bee seen from the table below.

Leinster Women226419
Munster Women223719
Ulster Women20(37)11
Connacht Women20(64)00

Connacht may be in free fall this season but they will still be formidable opponents against an Ulster side that only starts playing when they go behind. It is clearly a confidence issue for a team that has been battered and bruised by the other three teams in this competition for the last six years solid.

They have shown a spark of recovery this season, but it’s a faint spark and one that a big rumbling Connacht pack could easily stamp out. If the Ulster players want to win this one they have to kick less, take it on up front and spin it wide for Downey and Durkan to do some damage. #SUFTUW

Connacht Women Ulster Women
Mairead Coyne15Larissa Muldoon
Jill Drapper14Eliza Downey
Catherine Martin13Maeve Liston
Nichole Fowley12Vicky Irwin
Orla Dixon11Ella Durkan
Hillary Griffin10Jemma Jackson
Mary Healy9Kathryn Dane
Laura Feely1Ilse van Staden
Ciara O’Connor2Neve Jones
Anne-Marie O’Hora3Aishling O’Connell
Nicola Caldbeck4Rebecca Lawlor
Amelle Roux5Sorcha Mac Laimhin
Denise Redmond6Beth Cregan
Edel McMahon7Claire McLaughlin
Nichola Fryday8Lauren Maginnes
Moya Griffin16Michelle Gormley-McLaughlin
Elizabeth McNicholas17Shannon Heapes
Julia Bauer18Kathryn Hannah
Clodagh Dunne19Keelin Brady
Tara Buggie20Pieta McAlister
Shannon Lane21Fiona Tuite
Ellen Taite22Chloe McIlwaine
Rachel Healy23Diane Ramsey

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.