The teams have been announced for the final round of the World Rugby U20 Championship where Ireland U20 face Georgia U20 in the 9th place positional play-off. The match takes place at the Mikheil Meskhi Stadium, Tbilisi tomorrow (Sunday) afternoon with a local kick-off at 13:00, 10:00 UK/IRE.

There are a couple of changes to the Irelan U20 side that beat Samoa last time out, the bad news is that Ulster’s Peter Cooper misses out altogether, having been the provinces only starter last time out. Cooper is replaced by Charlie Connolly at tighthead with Greg McGrath benching for this one.

Gavin Coombes also drops from the starting lineup to the bench, with John Foley starting, Foley showing u for a lot of carries when he came on as a replacement against Samoa.

In the backs, it’s pretty much the same again with David McCarthy in for Ciaran Frawley, in the centre, the only change. Frawley looked to be limping when he was replaced last time out but McCathy’s abrasive play won’t go wanting in what’s sure to be a physical challenge against a fired-up home side.

Ulster is represented on the bench by scrum half Jonny Stewart and back three replacement, Mark Keane with both expected to see game time in this encounter.

With only a win against Samoa to their credit, this has to be regarded as a disappointing tournament for the Irish youngsters, who promised so much after their rousing display against the all-conquering English side way back in March.

Injuries to, and withdrawals of, key players plus the untimely changing of the head coach have seen the campaign lack a degree of consistency. However, there can be no better game to finish the campaign off on a high than to beat the tournament hosts in front of their own support.

It’s a young squad with eleven players available for next season so hopefully, the experience won’t go to waste next season.

The FRU Predicts: I’m looking forward to this one which should be quite the occasion in front of the home crowd. However, I suspect it’ll be Ireland celebrating at the end of this one.

Alan Tynan 15 Miriani Modebadze
Michael Silvester 14 Saba Svimonishvili
Gavin Mullin 13 Bezhani Gavashelishvili
David McCarthy 12 Giorgi Kvesladze
Calvin Nash 11 Davit Meskhi
Conor Dean 10 Tedo Abzhandadze
Jack Stafford 9 Gela Aprasidze
Jordan Duggan 1 Guram Gogichashvili
Ronan Kelleher 2 Levan Papidze
Charlie Connolly 3 Guram Papidze
Fineen Wycherley 4 Lasha Jaiani
Oisin Dowling 5 Koba Jimsheleishvili
John Foley 6 Beka Saghinadaze
Paul Boyle 7 Ilia Spanderashvili (C)
Caelan Doris 8 Arseni Machaladze
Adam Moloney 16 Levan Tchavtchavadze
Joey Conway 17 Ushangi Tcheishvili
Greg McGrath 18 Lasha Tabidze
Jack Regan 19 Tornike Jalagonia
Gavin Coombes 20 Sandro Mamamtavrishvili
Jonny Stewart 21 Luka Dvalishvili
Ciaran Frawley 22 Giorgi Tsiklauri
Mark Keane 23 Beka Mamukashvili