2016-17 England U20 International Rugby U20 Ireland U20 Six Nations Under 20

Teams announced for Ireland U20 v England U20

The teams have been announced for Friday evenings Six Nations match between Ireland U20 and England U20. Kick off 18:00.

Unfortunately, due to injuries we are now down to one Ulster player, ever present Jonny Stewart the only Ulster talent on show.  While I generally enjoy the teams that Nigel Carolan puts out I have to say that the loss of Johnny McPhillips, Peter Cooper, Marcus Rea and Rob Lyttle, coupled with the defeat by Wales last week, has somewhat taken the shine of this fixture for me.

Carolan has made three changes from the team that lost to Wales, with Gavin Mullin coming in at outside center and John Foley coming in at blindside to bump Gavin Coombes to the bench at the expense of Rea.

The usually reserved Carolin has been talking this team up this week with the surprise assertion that this is a better squad than last year. They have certainly shown a lot of resilience to get this far with only one loss, but, in truth, I’ve yet to see them play at the level that last years lads did. They played a delightful brand of rugby even when they lost.

Friday night would certainly be the night to prove me wrong but they are going to need to up their game considerably if they are to cause England problems. The English have progressed rather sedately through the first four matches, getting a try bonus point in each one, to wrap up the Championship a week early, unassailable on 20 points.

The FRU Predicts: Try as I might I just can’t see where Ireland U20 are going to win this one. Could be a record making five bonus point wins out of five for the English!

Jordan Larmour15Tom Parton
Tommy O’Brien14Joe Cokanasiga
Gavin Mullin13Dominic Morris
Ciaran Frawley12Will Butler
Calvin Nash11Sam Aspland-Robinson
Bill Johnston10Max Malins
Jonny Stewart9Harry Randall
Joey Conway1Ollie Dawe
Tadgh McElroy2Henry Walker
Charlie Connolly3Ciaran Knight
Fineen Wycherley4Jack Nay
Oisin Dowling5Nick Isiekwe
John Foley6Tom Curry
Paul Boyle7Ben Curry
Caelan Doris8Zach Mercer
Ronan Kelleher16Jamie Blamire
Greg McGrath17Ralph Adams-Hale
Matthew Burke18Joseph Morris
Jack Regan19Justin Clegg
Gavin Coombes20Josh Bayliss
Jack Stafford21Alex Mitchell
Conor Fitzgerald22Theo Brophy Clews
Colm Hogan23Max Wright

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.