There are a handful of changes on both sides for this return leg of the British and Irish Cup match which takes place on Saturday afternoon at Sardis Road, Pontypridd. Kick off 2:30 pm. 

Ulster have made four changes in the back line, the most noteworthy being Johnny McPhillips starting at 10 ahead of Brett Herron, who benches for this one. McPhillips move from fullback sees the whole back three change with Jack Owens taking the fullback berth alongside David Busby who bumps up from the bench to partner new start Connor Kelly. 

Up front the only change is Tommy O’Hagan coming in for Callum Black.

Cardiff’s backline remains the same but hooker Ethan Lewis is one of four changes in the pack, and he will captain the side at Pontypridd.  Other changes include Kieron Assiratti, Shane Lewis-Hughes and Jim Botham, who replace Dillon Lewis, Nick White and Morgan Sieniawski respectively.

The difficulty with these matches is not so much the personnel but how much training time they have got under their belts as a team, and the results are notoriously difficult to predict. Suffice to say it was a close one last week and I expect it to be equally close this time out, it all coming down to which team wants it the most. 

Ulster A 3 2 0 1 64 50 2 10
London Scottish 3 2 0 1 73 72 2 10
Jersey 3 2 0 1 77 44 1 9
Cardiff Blues PS 3 0 0 3 43 91 2 2

Ulster are currently in the driving seat in this group at the halfway point and it would be good to see them kick on and win this one after a series of dismal years in this competition. 

Cardiff Blues PS   Ulster A
Gareth Thompson 15 Jack Owens
Kyle Evans 14 Connor Kelly
Garyn Smith 13 Rory Butler
Harri Millard 12 Mark Best
Teri Gee 11 David Busby
Ben Jones 10 Johnny McPhillips
Pele Cowley 9 Dave Shanahan
Corey Domachowski 1 Tom O’Hagan
Ethan Lewis 2 John Andrew
Kieron Assirratti 3 Jonny Simpson
Hemi Barnes 4 Connor Smyth
Ben Murphy 5 Stephen Mulholland
Shane Lewis-Hughes 6 Nick Timoney
Jim Botham 7 Conor Joyce
Cam Dolan 8 Lorcan Dow
Liam Belcher 16 Jonny Murphy
Rhys Carre 17 Peter Cooper
Dillon Lewis 18 John McCusker
Nick White 19 Zack McCall
Dane Blacker 20 Jonny Stewart
Owen Lane 21 Brett Herron
James Beal 22 Josh Jordan