2016-17 Schools Cup

Schools: Draw made for Ulster Schools’ Cup Opening Rounds

The draw has been made for the opening rounds of the Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ Cup with the big news being that Dromore High have bypassed Round 1 and will now kick off their first ever tilt at the competition in Round 2 with a local derby against Banbridge Academy.

My old school, Larne Grammar, have slipped into the Round 1 qualifiers  🙁  and they will be opening their account with a jaunt over Shanes Hill to play Cambridge House in Ballymena.

2016/17 Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ Cup Entry Levels & Provisional Dates:

Round 1 – Saturday 03 December 2016
Strabane Academy v Carrickfergus Grammar School
Cambridge House Grammar School v Larne Grammar School

Round 2 – Saturday 07 January 2017
The two winners from Round 1 will be joined by twelve further teams for the Round 2 draw:
Antrim Grammar School, Banbridge Academy, Belfast High School, Dalriada School, Dromore High School, Foyle College, Friends School Lisburn, Limavady Grammar School, Lurgan College, Portadown College, Regent House, Wellington College.

Belfast High School v Limavady Grammar School
Banbridge Academy v Dromore High School
Foyle College v Regent House
Friends School Lisburn v Antrim Grammar School
Portadown College v Wellington College
Lurgan College v Strabane Academy / Carrickfergus Grammar School
Cambridge House / Larne Grammar School v Dalriada School

Round 3 – Saturday 21 January 2017
The seven Round 2 winners are joined by nine further teams for the Round 3 draw:
Ballyclare High School, Bangor Grammar School, Belfast Royal Academy, Coleraine Grammar School, Enniskillen Royal Grammar School, Grosvenor Grammar School, Rainey Endowed School, Royal School Armagh, Royal School Dungannon.

Round 4 – Saturday 04 February 2017
The eight winners from Round 3 will be joined by the remaining eight sides:
Ballymena Academy, Campbell College, Down High School, Methodist College Belfast, Omagh Academy, Royal Belfast Academical Institution, Sullivan Upper School, Wallace High School.

Quarter Finals – Saturday 18 February 2017

Semi Final 1 – Monday 27 February 2017 (Kingspan Stadium, 2.30pm)
Semi Final 2 – Tuesday 28 February 2017 (Kingspan Stadium, 2.30pm)

Final – Friday 17th March 2017 (Kingspan Stadium, 3.00pm)