The teams were announced early this morning for tomorrow’s PRO12 clash between Treviso and Ulster which takes place in Stadio Comunale di Monigo, kick-off 5.05 pm UK/Ire. Live on BBCNI.

It’s a super young, ball playing back-line for Ulster with Marshall and Olding in the centre and Lyttle and Stockdale on the wings and Herron at out half, but it’s topped and tailed by masses of experience with Pienaar at nine and Ludik at full back. 

Should be very exciting if they get a good supply of ball and therein lies the question. 

Treviso have recruited heavily over the summer and showed much progress in Round 1 with a narrow defeat to Leinster, their front five holding up well.

Ulster have taken this opportunity to cap Kieran Treadwell and Rodney Ah You and both will have their work cut out to win me over as I want to see our imports substantially better than our local talent. Both will need a good game if they are going to get in the Front Row Union’s good books!  😈 

Irrespective, however, Ulster have a strong bench with bags of experience in Diack, Cave and, even, McCloskey these days so they should be able to pull themselves out of a hole if things aren’t going to plan. Diack and Cave in particular having a record of scoring vital tries in this fixture. 

The FRU Predicts: It’s the start of  new era in Italian Rugby and this is going to be an awkward enough encounter for the young Ulster team. I wouldn’t be surprised if Treviso were leading at the break in a high scoring match. However Ulster should have enough to pull clear in the final quarter and I expect them to edge ahead for another bonus point win. #SUFTUM

Jayden Hayward 15 Louis Ludik
Angelo Esposito 14 Robert Lyttle
Tommaso Benvenuti 13 Luke Marshall
Luke McClean 12 Stuart Olding
Andrea Buondonno 11 Jacob Stockdale
Thomas Allan 10 Brett Herron
Giorgio Bronzini 9 Ruan Pienaar
Nicola Quaglio 1 Kyle McCall
Ornel Gega 2 Rob Herring
Simonne Ferrari 3 Rodney Ah You
Marco Fuser 4 Kieran Treadwell
Filo Paulo 5 Franco vd Merwe
Francesco Minto 6 Clive Ross
Marco Lazzaroni 7 Sean Reidy
Marco Barbini 8 Roger Wilson
Robera Santamaria 16 John Andrew
Alberto De Marchi 17 Andrew Warwick
Titan Pasquali 18 Ross Kane
Filippo Geosa 19 Pete Browne
Dean Budd 20 Robbie Diack
Edoardo Gori 21 Angus Lloyd
Ian McKinley 22 Stuart McCloskey
David Odiete 23 Darren Cave