Ireland Men’s and Women’s Sevens Squads have been named for II Toreno Internacional Rugby 7s tournament in Elche, Spain this weekend.

It marks the start of their preparations for the Olympic Qualification Repêchage which takes place next summer.

The men’s side features two Ulster based players, Aaron Cairns (Ballynahinch) and Nick Timoney (Queen’s University), Cairns being a regular since the inception of the Sevens squad and Timoney enjoying his first outing at Sevens since featuring for Ireland U20’s last summer. Former FRU Young Player of the Year and Ireland Sevens regular, Dave McGuigan (Ballynahinch) has just recovered from injury but hoped to be available for the Dubai tournament in December.

The Women’s side features another former FRU Player of the Year in Ulster’s Ashliegh Baxter, a regular for Ireland in the Sevens and Fifteens games, and while I can see the huge attraction of a possible trip to Rio next year the inclusion of the wonderfully talented Baxter in the cut down version of rugby is a big loss for Ireland, Ulster and Cooke Women in the “real” game.


Cian Aherne (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Alan Bennie (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
Aaron Cairns (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Tom Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster) (capt)
Barry Daly (UCD/Leinster)
Matthew D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Foster Horan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Terry Kennedy (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Gearoid Lyons (Young Munster/Munster)
Matthew O’Regan (Macclesfield/Exiles)
Mark Roche (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Nick Timoney (Queen’s University/Ulster)

Ireland Men’s Sevens Fixtures –

Friday, November 13:

Spain v Ireland, 5.20pm local time/4.20pm Irish time
Ireland v Portugal, 6.40pm local time/5.40pm Irish time

Saturday, November 14:

France v Ireland, 11.20am local time/10.20am Irish time
Play-Offs, 12.40pm local time/11.40am Irish time


Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke/Ulster)
Megan Williams (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
Audrey O’Flynn (TID)
Emma Murphy (Railway Union/Leinster)
Kim Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Shannon Houston (Blackrock/Leinster)
Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum/Leinster) (capt)
Eimear Considine (TID)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Aoife Doyle (Shannon/Munster)
Amee-Leigh Crowe (St. Mary’s/Munster)
Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)

Ireland Women’s Sevens Fixtures –

Friday, November 13:

Portugal v Ireland, 4.20pm local time/3.20pm Irish time
Ireland v England, 6pm local time/5pm Irish time
Spain v Ireland, 7.20pm local time/6.20pm Irish time

Saturday, November 14:

Spain Development v Ireland, 10am local time/9am Irish time
Ireland v France, 11.40am local time/10.40am Irish time
Play-Offs, 1.20pm local time/12.20pm Irish time


Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.