Ulster start their defence of the Inter Provincial Championship against Munster this evening at Queen’s Arena. KO 17:00. This will be their only home fixture this season.

Ireland U20’s Adam McBurney will captain the side from hooker after a successful World Rugby U20’s Championship campaign.

I had hoped to get along to see this team in one of their warm up matches but circumstances intervened so I don’t have much to report on the selection.

However, I have been hearing good stuff about their training with new coach Joe Barakat since his arrival in early July with much of the emphasis on the game close to the breakdown as well as a reinforcement of the traditional rugby values of discipline and commitment so I’m looking forward to see how they get on.

I’ll be up covering this game so hopefully plenty of pictures tomorrow.

Ulster   Munster
Robert Lyttle 15 Dave O’Mahoney
Conor Kelly 14 Colm Hogan
Alex Kane 13 Paul Kiernan
Kieran Joyce 12 James McAlleese
Jonny Rosborough 11 Lee Molloy
Andrew Magrath 10 Bill Johnston
Liam Free 9 John Poland
Ben Halliday 1 Peter Mayer
Adam McBurney 2 Shane Fenton
Peter Cooper 3 Ben Betts
Harry Cleland 4 Sean O’Leary
Hugh Sloan 5 Barra O’Byrne
Conall Boomer 6 Kelvin Browne
Lewis McNamara 7 Dan Walsh
Matthew Fisher 8 John Foley
Tristan King 16 Jordan Prenderville
Andrew Shaw 17 Shane O’Hanlon
Rory Squires 18 Rob O’Donovan
Ronan McCusker 19 Pat Staff
Saul Herdman 20 Ronan Murphy
Chris Gibson 21 Johnny Glynn
Matthew McDowell 22 Tom McHale
Matthew Hooks 23 James O’Connor


Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.