2012-13 International Rugby U20 IRB Junior World Championship Ireland U20

JWC2013: Wholesale changes to U20 squad for Australia opener.

Ireland players celebrate their win over England in the 2012 JWC.
Ireland players celebrate their win over England in the 2012 JWC.

The Ireland Under-20 team has been named for their first game of the 2013 IRB Junior World Championship against Australia in Vannes on Wednesday (kick-off 6.45pm local time/5.45pm Irish time).

It looks like we were a touch early announcing the squad as there are now only four Ulster men involved with three, Rory Scholes, John Donnan and Connor Joyce, making the starting XV for the opening game against Australia, with Chris Taylor sitting this one out. We’ll try to find the reason for the changes to the original squad but it looks like what promises to be a difficult campaign for the Irish youngsters has got that bit harder!

The team was always going to miss the likes of Ulster’s Stuart Olding and Connacht’s Robbie Henshaw , both will be touring North America with the Ireland team, and these late changes to the squad come as a further hurdle.

However the team demonstrated during the recent Six Nations that they can compete with the bigger, more physical, teams when they defeated England, but given the nature of this tournament they may only have one chance to cause an upset and this first up game against Australia may be it. The competition is so demanding it is hard to see the Irish having the strength in depth to be competitive later in the tournament.

Scrum half Luke McGrath will captain the Ireland Under-20 side for their opening Pool B fixture against their Australian counterparts.

McGrath is just one of two players who have previous experience of playing in the Junior World Championship. The other, Josh van der Flier, has been named in the back row.

Four players who were not involved in the Under-20 Six Nations earlier this year have earned places in the matchday squad – Leinster-capped winger Adam Byrne, centre Thomas Farrell and replacement forwards Edward Byrne and Daniel Leavy.

The versatile Rory Scannell, who played at centre and out-half during the Six Nations, moves to full-back with Farrell linking up in the centre with his Lansdowne club-mate Thomas Daly who scored 35 points in four Six Nations outings.

Provincial colleagues McGrath and Steve Crosbie continue their half-back partnership with Connacht youngster Adam Boland making his first start for the Ireland U-20s at tighthead prop.

Peadar Timmins, who started the season at blindside flanker, teams up with Ballynahinch clubman John Donnan in the second row, while Conor Joyce, Josh van der Flier and Ryan Murphy combine in the back row after starting together against France and Italy in March.

Mike Ruddock’s charges share Pool B with Australia, Fiji and New Zealand. Ireland’s pool matches will be broadcast live on TG4 along with the semi-finals and final games of the tournament in France.

IRELAND U20: To face Australia
15 – Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)
14 – Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
13 – Thomas Farrell (Lansdowne/Leinster)
12 – Thomas Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11 – Rory Scholes (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
10 – Steve Crosbie (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9 – Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
1 – Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)
2 – George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons/Exile)
3 – Adam Boland (Lansdowne/Connacht)
4 – Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster)
5 – John Donnan (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
6 – Conor Joyce (Malone/Ulster)
7 – Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)
8 – Ryan Murphy (Dolphin/Munster)


16 – Bryan Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
17 – Edward Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
18 – Ryan Furniss (Worcester Warriors/Exile)
19 – Sean McCarthy (Shannon/Munster)
20 – Daniel Leavy (UCD/Leinster)
21 – David Shanahan (Clontarf/Leinster)
22 – Mark Roche (Lansdowne/Connacht)
23 – Darragh Leader (Galwegians/Connacht)

Ireland Pool Fixtures.

Wednesday 5th June17:45IrelandvAustralia
Sunday 9th June17:45IrelandvFiji
Thursday 13th June17:45New ZealandvIreland

On completion of the pool fixtures teams are placed in semi final and final play-offs for ranking points.

Full Squad
Full NameDOB (AGE)CMKGCLUBPosition
Adam Boland15/07/1993(19)17890ConnachtProp
Edward Bryne09/09/1993(19)185109LeinsterProp
Peter Dooley04/08/1994(18)186109LeinsterProp
Ryan Furniss17/02/1993(20)179107Worcester WarriorsProp
Chris Taylor11/03/1993(20)183113UlsterProp
Brian Byrne09/09/1993(19)180105LeinsterHooker
George McGuigan30/03/1993(20)184106Newcastle FalconsHooker
John Donnan16/02/1993(20)195110UlsterLock
Sean McCarthy12/02/1993(20)196114MunsterLock
Gavin Thornbury19/10/1993(19)203110LeinsterLock
Conor Joyce05/07/1993(19)193104UlsterFlanker
Dan Leavy23/05/1994(19)193103LeinsterFlanker
Ryan Murphy05/03/1993(20)185100MunsterFlanker
Jack O’Donoghue08/02/1994(19)18997MunsterFlanker
Peadar Timmins08/01/1994(19)18997LeinsterFlanker
Josh Van Der Flier25/04/1993(20)18698LeinsterFlanker
Luke McGrath03/02/1993(20)17584LeinsterScrumhalf
David Shanahan20/06/1993(19)17379LeinsterScrumhalf
Steve Crosbie10/02/1993(20)18694LeinsterFlyhalf
Adam Byrne10/04/1994(19)18795LeinsterCentre
Thomas Farrell01/10/1993(19)18997LeinsterCentre
Tom Daly31/07/1993(19)193102LeinsterCentre
Mark Roche25/01/1993(20)17389ConnachtCentre
Rory Scannell22/12/1993(19)18094MunsterCentre
Darragh Leader22/05/1993(20)18895ConnachtFullback
David Panter03/02/1993(20)18088ConnachtFullback
Rory Scholes23/04/1993(20)18694UlsterFullback
Darren Sweetnam05/05/1993(20)18790MunsterFullback
Full NameDOB (AGE)Position   
Mike Ruddock05/09/1959(53)Head Coach
Hendrik Kruger18/01/1963(50)Team Manager
Greig Oliver12/09/1964(48)Assistant Coach
Paudie Roche12/10/1980(32)Fitness Coach
Garrett Coughlan11/12/1981(31)Physiotherapist
John Philpott30/10/1973(39)Team Doctor
Regina Flanagan03/01/1970(43)Massage Therapist
Laurence Hogan10/12/1965(47)Baggage Master
Vinny Hammond13/03/1985(28)Performance Analyst

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.