2012-13 France U20 International Rugby U20 Ireland U20 Six Nations Under 20

Six Nations: Seven Ulster players in U20 Squad for France

The Ireland Under-20 team to face France at Dubarry Park on Friday night (kick-off 19:45) has been named.

Head coach Mike Ruddock has made two changes in personnel, with the return of Stuart Olding and Conor Joyce from RaboDirect PRO12 duty with Ulster. They are joined in the squad by fellow Ulster youngsters Rory Scholes, Chris Taylor, John Donnan, John Andrew and John Creighton.

Ulster’s Peter Nelson, who runs out for the Ravens tomorrow at Connacht, is just too late recovering from injury to be involved and of course Chris Farrell is still out.

Olding, who touched down against both Glasgow Warriors and Benetton Treviso, starts at full-back in a back-three combination that is completed by winger David Panter and Scholes.

Joyce, a starter for the province against Glasgow, has been named at blindside flanker. Darragh Leader and Peadar Timmins will resume on the replacements bench.

Speaking ahead of the clash with France, Mike Ruddock said:

We have a tough battle on our hands against a strong French team. They have recalled to their squad a number of players with Heineken Cup experience. We need to reproduce our valiant effort we showed against England.

Friday’s Under-20 match will broadcast live from Athlone on RTÉ Two, with coverage starting at 7.30pm.


Stuart Olding15Nicolas Metge
David Panter14Florian Vialelle
Tom Daly13Gael Fickou
Rory Scannell12Thibaut Regard
Rory Scholes11Stephen Parez
Steve Crosbie10Vincent Mallet
Luke McGrath9Yohan Domenech
Peter Dooley1Cyril Baille
George McGuigan2Romain Ruffenach
Chris Taylor3Khatchik Vartanov
Gavin Thornbury4Jean-Baptiste Singer
John Donnan5Paul Jedrasiak
Conor Joyce6Jean-Blaise Lespinasse
Josh van der Flier7Francois Cros
Ryan Murphy8Mathieu Babillot
John Andrew16Oleg Ishchenko
Ryan Furniss17Alexis Valette
Adam Boland18Pascal Cotet
Sean McCarthy19Leo Bastien
Peadar Timmins20Baptiste Serin
John Creighton21Enzo Selponi
Mark Roche22Etienne Dussartre
Darragh Leader23Yacouba Camara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.