2012-13 Interprovincials Leinster Women Provincial Rugby Women Ulster Women

Women: Ulster team for Leinster.

Ulster Women’s team has been named for this Saturday’s match against Leinster Women at Ashbourne RFC. KO 13:30.

The team see’s two personnel changes and a raft of positional changes in the back line. The team welcomes back, the current Ireland full back, Ashleigh Baxter, along with veteran centre Brenda Brogan with Zoe Templeton and  Noreen Nethercott dropping out of the squad.

The inclusion of Baxter at full back has led to a re-jig of the back line with Amy Davis moving to outside centre, Claire McLauglin to inside centre and Nikki Caughey to the wing in an effort to shore up Ulster’s wide defence.

Last week’s try scorers Imogen Porter and Jemma Jackson retain their positions at scrum half and left wing respectively.

Up front Lizzie Ballentine moves into second row and Kelly Holmes starts at blind side with Sorcha Chipperfield and Shirelle Wilson dropping to the bench.

Yet again the team will need a big effort up front. Despite an impressive first half from Ulster last weekend, against Munster, the team fell off the pace in the second half and they will need to eliminate mistakes and stay focused for the full 80 minutes against a strong Leinster side.

Ulster: Ashleigh Baxter, Jemma Jackson, Amy Davis, Claire McLaughlin, Nikki Caughey, Grace Davitt, Imogen Poter, Ilse van Staden, Stacey Lea Kennedy (C), Fiona O’Brien, Lizzie Ballentine, Colette Broome, Kelly Holmes, Gemma McCutcheon, Nikita Armstrong. Replacements: Laura Feely, Sorcha Chipperfield, Shirelle Wilson, Hannah Kilgore, Dani Boyd, Aiofe Walsh, Brenda Brogan.

One reply on “Women: Ulster team for Leinster.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.